Four Leading Indian American Physicians Named Members of the Association of American Physicians for 2017

At least four Indian American physicians were among those named of the Association of American Physicians for 2017.
The four — Naga Chalasani, Nikhil Munshi, Sanjay Saint and Anil Sood — as well as the other 56 physicians, were honored in recognition of their pursuit of medical knowledge, the advancement — through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science — and their application to clinical medicine.
Each year, individuals having attained excellence in achieving these goals are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.
Chalasani is the David W. Crabb professor of gastroenterology and hepatology at the Indiana University School of Medicine. He earned his medical degree in India at the Kakatiya Medical College and later completed his residency and fellowship at Emory University. The physician, who has published more than a dozen papers, also belongs to the American Gastroenterological Association, the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases.
Munshi is the director of basic and correlative science at the Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, Mass., where he serves as a senior physician. Additionally, he serves as a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. Munshi received his medical degree from Maharaja Sayjirao University in India in 1984 and later completed his postgraduate training in internal medicine at SSG Hospital and Maharaja Sayjirao University, followed by fellowships at Johns Hopkins Oncology Center and Indiana University Medical Center. He joined Dana-Farber in 2001.
Saint is the George Dock professor of internal medicine at the University of Michigan. Additionally, he serves as an associate chief of medicine at the VA Ann Arbor Medical Center and director of the VA/UM Patient Safety Enhancement Program. A graduate of U.C. Irvine (two bachelor's), the University of Washington (M.P.H.) and UCLA (medical degree), Saint's research focuses on enhancing patient safety by preventing healthcare-associated complications, with a special focus on catheter-related infection, translating research findings into practice, and medical decision-making.
Sood is professor and vice chair for translational research in the departments of gynecologic oncology and reproductive medicine at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, among other UT-based roles. Sood has published numerous peer-reviewed articles and has authored and co-authored several book chapters, and he serves on the editorial board for several journals. He has received major recognition for his research accomplishments including the Hunter Award, the Margaret Greenfield/Carmel Cohen Excellence in Ovarian Cancer Research Prize and the GCF/Claudia Cohen Research Prize for Outstanding Gynecologic Cancer Researcher. He is a graduate of Davidson College and the University of North Carolina.
The Association of American Physicians is a nonprofit, professional organization founded in 1885 by seven physicians. The association is comprised of members who are leading senior physician scientists and are competitively selected.
Currently AAP has more than 1,700 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries. 


Popular posts from this blog

EMA Recommends Extension of Indications for Ramucirumab

Dr. Hootie Warren takes helm of Fred Hutch Global Oncology

Merck announces positive event-free survival data from phase 3 KEYNOTE-522 study of Keytruda to treat triple-negative breast cancer